Mark 10:44-45
…and whoever wishes to be first among you shall be slave of all. “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.”

How and Why do you serve? What characteristics describe your servant-hood? When you serve do you do it in looking for a reward or are you doing it because that is the desire of your heart? Do you seek to serve yourself or to serve others? These are just a few questions to challenge you, ones that continue to challenge me daily.

I myself love serving but I too have to remind myself am I serving myself or my God. For when I find myself seeking and serving God, I find my heart becoming more humble, giving, submissive, and thankful.  For me here in Haiti my friends have become humbling examples of servant-hood. Way beyond what I have experienced elsewhere. Haitians are known for “sevi” (serving) each other. Practically every where you go in Haiti, you find people serving one another. If there was only enough food for 2 people 6 people will be fed with it. If someone needs shoes, another will go without.  Doesn’t matter the age either it’s apart of the culture.  I love when the little one’s break a piece of their bread and share it with another child.  Not only to they serve us but they too serve their friends and family within the community.

I am served everyday I visit my friends in the village through their hospitality and generosity. Us nurses are greeted with hugs, kisses, and smiles by the children as soon as they spot us. They always seem to know when we’re coming : ) If I want to sit they pull the best chairs out of their houses, chairs that they themselves do not use. When I asked my friend why they do not use the chairs, she said the chairs are too nice to sit on. If perhaps my clothes are dirty, which let’s be honest they are everyday, they want to wash them. One day I came to the village in my scrubs and left the village in a skirt, not by choice either! If our butt is dirty when we stand up, we always have someone slapping the dust off. If one of us are sick, we’re bound to receive some concoction from our friends to aid our recovery. I could go on and on. When they serve us it is with their whole heart; a servants heart!

Natacha preparing a feast.

The other day Brooke and I was served dinner. Not just any ole dinner. This was seriously like a feast. A meal that I myself rarely see cooked here. It wasn’t no rice and beans. It had plantains, carrots, potatoes, greens, chicken, and bread. Here I was sitting with a child sleeping in my lap assisting my friend Natacha in a little hut (aka kitchen) helping prepare the meal I was to partake. The best part was the time spent talking with Natacha.  While the meal was cooking, I had too continue to smile and reassure her that I would be joining her for dinner. She loved to remind of all the times I turned down her offers : ).

Here I was invited into her home to sit at a table and use dishes and spoons that I hadn’t seen used at any other time.  We had a bowl of water to wash our hands and our food awaited us on the table. As we sat I couldn’t help but look at all the eyes looking back at us. Not eyes of desperation either.  Each had a smile followed often by a giggle.   All those who joined us were either sitting on the ground or standing in the doorway eating with their hands out of their stainless steel bowls. To say the least, the food was delicious!

Ready to prepare dinner?

Chicken and Potatoes

Haitian Stove Top!

A few days later I returned back to her home to visit.  Prior to my departure she says “you’re not going are you, I haven’t made dinner yet.”  I told her that’s alright I will join another day.  So then I asked her why does she want to serve us…she says “ I want to serve you and when one eats here we all eat!” To her it doesn’t matter, she just wants to serve us. She doesn’t need a reason, other than she finds complete joy in it. The people here are family and provide us with the best of the best with such a humbling spirit.  Like Jesus Christ washed the disciples feet, they too would wash mine!

                                       Good to the very last drop..

Matthew 23:11
“But the greatest among you shall be your servant.