I will say of the Lord, He is my Refuge and my Fortress, my God; on Him I lean and rely, and in Him I confidently trust! For He will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence.
Psalm 91: 2-3

Campus Growth

So hard to believe that just over 2 years ago a 7.0 magnitude earthquake killed more than 250,000 people and left close to 2,000,000 people homeless and now living in over 1000 IDP camps. A day in history where a Haitian will always be able to tell you where they were during such tradgedy, just like us Americans with 9/11. Although so tragic for many God has redeemed it for His good. Sad enough, if it wasn’t for the earthquake, I’m not quite sure I would be here serving as a nurse, building friendships(both Haitian and American), trying to help re-mudd huts, spraying bug spray 3-4 times a day just to decrease the number of mosquito bites, learn Creole and all and all step outside of my comfort zone back home.

Dining Hall and bathrooms
Door #1 our home!
Thanks to Don Bradleys Team the hospital has electricity…

NVM as a whole has grown amazingly fast; 2 new children homes and a hospital in process, a warehouse, new office building, new dining hall, bathrooms, dorms for short term teams, housing for longterm volunteers, 2 dining halls with one now the church and so much more in the plans.

Just recently I returned from visiting friends and family back home. First time I considered my home a vacation spot. During my time home I couldn’t help but notice that the first words that seemed to pop out of one’s mouth was “ Hows Haiti?.” Although I was happy to hear their interest and concern, I never felt like I knew the correct answer. Is there a correct answer? Good yes because it has been 2 years since the earthquake. Their daily routines of life since then has begun yet again, the loss Haiti has felt is so real and will always be present.

NVM feeding our church family(Our churchs 3 year anniversary)

Now on the other side there is still 800,000 people occupying the tent cities, malnutrition is still overall a country wide problem, weak healthcare system, the economy is far I mean far from good, the government perhaps not all is crooked, education system hard to sustain, little access to clean water and more. Most of this was present far before media displayed it world wide following the earthquake. Haiti though has what it takes…. Hope in Christ!

Onnaville (outskirts of Port au Prince) IDP camp that became a village!

Haitian Proverb:

 Sa je pa weke pa tounen (What the eye doesn’t see, doesn’t move the heart!)